Mollie Brotherton

My work is inspired by the countryside of Le Gers, a small land-locked region at the foot of the Pyrenees in South West France. What interests me about this rural area are the changes in season, the shifting variations of the colours of the land, the rolling hills and ancient woodlands as well as the hedgerows full of wild plants and flowers.

The region is agricultural and the changing crops of the fields provide endless scope for textured surfaces and colours, whilst the hilltop farms and stands of oak trees with distant views of the mountains help to punctuate and draw the eye around the form.

The medium of clay provides the perfect material in which to express these ideas. Every piece starts as a series of drawings which are then worked into a collage using recycled papers and worked into with a mixture of media. Slabs of clay are then cut up and reassembled, colours are applied in many layers using wax and latex as resist and oxides to enhance textures and plant forms.

All my work is made from grogged Stoneware and fired to 1260°c.


After graduating in 1997 with a degree in English Literature and Ceramics, I set up my own ceramic studio funded by part-time work at the Gibbs Gallery, Canterbury.

In the summer of 1997 I travelled to Hungary to study at the International School of Ceramics under Sandor Keskermeti. In the summer of 1998 I undertook a project for Reading Council funded by the Urban Regeneration Scheme.  I was asked to produce a number of ceramic murals with help from the local community.  The experience encouraged me to join South East Arts Public Art Forum.

From January to May 1999 I was ceramic technician for Canterbury Christ Church University College.  The position also involved teaching a Staff Development course as well as lectures to the students on my particular field of Ceramics. I have since then taught the first year foundation course and lectured at Career Development sessions.

In 2001 I completed an MA in Ceramics whilst undertaking a teaching position at The Kings School in Canterbury. During my 7 years within the Art and Design department I became a resident tutor in one of the boarding houses and worked evenings in the school library. Every year I exhibited my work within the school as well as teaching a number of Adult Education classes in the evenings.

I currently live in the South West of France where I run a studio, exhibit and teach classes for local people and visitors alike.

Showing all 7 results